England announce squad to face Sunshine Girls

25th February 2013
England announce squad to face Sunshine Girls

Squad selected to face Jamaica in three-match Series in Caribbean

England Netball is delighted to announce the squad which has been selected for our tour to Jamaica this April. The squad is as follows;

Pamela Cookey - captain, Kadeen Corbin, Sasha Corbin, Emma Dovey, Rachel Dunn, Stacey Francis, Jodie Gibson, Serena Guthrie, Lindsay Keable, Laura Malcolm, Mia Ritchie, Rachel Shaw.

The team will fly out to the Caribbean at the end of March as they acclimatise to conditions before facing the Sunshine Girls in a trio of matches.

The opening encounter takes place on Tuesday 2nd April with the second contest being played a day later on the 3rd. There is then a small break before the final match brings a close to the tour on Saturday 6th April.

Having defeated Australia in our last set of international matches, England have cemented their position at third place in the world ranking with our opponents in April sat one place back in fourth. Anna Mayes’ side faced their Jamaican counterparts on home soil back in September when a fiercely competitive Series ended 2-1 to England.

The last time that England made the visit to the Caribbean was in April 2011 when the Sunshine Girls inflicted their own 2-1 Series defeat on the visitors as preparations were underway for that year’s World Netball Championships.

England Netball will be bringing you live updates throughout the tour including exclusive updates on our website, facebook page and official twitter account. 

< Back to all news articles