New look, new players - new Superleague season

4th December 2012
New look, new players - new Superleague season

Superleague squads announced for 2013 NSL Season

In two months’ time the 2013 Netball Superleague season will start in earnest with a host of top names playing in the league. It isn’t just the franchises who have been busy chopping and changing over the summer, the league has also announced a brand new logo that the Superleague will be played under.

The new logo incorporates the colours of all eight franchises and includes the twitter handle that you can follow to keep right up to date with all of the latest Superleague action, news and behind the scenes gossip.

With the squads now registered following a rigorous pre-season and selection process, the final 15 players selected for each franchise makes for some interesting reading.

In arguably the biggest news, England captain Pamela Cookey has returned to Team Bath from Surrey Storm and will line-up with Serena Guthrie who dons the blue and yellow dress having taken a short break from the game.

Also making their comebacks for Bath having spent last season in the southern hemisphere are Stacey Francis and Rosie Allison. With a strong England flavour to their squad, Jess Garland will be hoping to see her side competing for the title come the Grand Final in May.

Some other notable changes include Alex Sinclair moving south from Loughborough Lightning to join Storm along with Sophie Morgan who leaves Celtic Dragons and heads to Guildford. Tamsin Greenway isn’t registered as a Storm player and will concentrate on leading her side as head coach.

There is exciting news for Lightning fans as two international players have been added to their ranks. Jamaican attacker Vanessa Walker joins Barbados star Nikita Piggott in Loughborough for the new season as Olivia Murphy’s side look to Caribbean flair to inspire them next year.

Hertfordshire Mavericks welcome back Layla Guscoth from an injury which saw the promising England youngster out on the side lines for the previous campaign. Over in Leeds, the Yorkshire Jets have included promising youngster Jessica Shaw, younger sister of England’s Rachel, in their squad.  

A trio of overseas players will be welcomed back to the Superleague as Celtic Dragons have retained Lottisha Cato to lead their attack, Team Northumbria, who have lost Captain Sam Holt, keep hold of Jatjinda Kambatuku and Manchester Thunder have Janelle Lawson back in the shooting circle.

The season gets underway on Thursday, February 7th with Team Bath taking on Celtic Dragons in a derby clash. Also in the opening round, Jets welcome Thunder, Mavericks visit Storm and Northumbria host Lightning.

The full list of franchise squads are as follows;

Celtic Dragons: Jamilla Abbott, Cathy Bastian, Lorraine Betsy, Lottisha Cato, Suzanne Drane, Bethan Dyke, Sara-Louise Hale, Sioned Hiscocks, Nichola James, Kyra Jones, Nia Jones, Chelsea Lewis, Cara Lea Moseley, Emma Thomas, Stephanie Williams

Hertfordshire Mavericks: Mikki Austin, Stephanie Burt, Sasha Corbin, Clare Drakeford, Alice Ewer, Layla Guscoth, Sophie Hankin, Tallisa Haynes, Josie Huckle, Naida Hutchinson, Vicklyn Joseph, Lindsay Keable, Danielle McFarlane, Michaela McFarlane, Rose Morgan-Smith

Loughborough Lightning: Sophia Candappa, Francesca Desmond, Florence Edwards, Jade Forbes-Wattley, Jodie Gibson, Hannah Joseph, Olivia Mason, Lauren Massey, Afrika Morris, Masego Motaung, Rachel Mulloy, Elizabeth Payne, Nikita Piggott, Lauren Steadman, Vanessa Walker

Manchester Thunder: Kerry Almond, Sara Bayman, Eleanor Cardwell, Beth Cobden, Emma Dovey, Krista Enziano, Rachel Henry, Sam Holt, Helen Housby, Janelle Lawson, Laura Malcolm, Gabby Marshall, Alice Travis, Kathryn Turner,  Georgie Webster

Surrey Storm: Kathryn Ainsworth, Stefania Bello, Jo Davidson, Amanda Davis, Rachel Dunn, Amy Flanagan, Katie Harris, Katy Holland, Georgia Lees, Sophie Morgan, Ashleigh Neal, Hannah Reid, Natalie Seaton, Alexandra Sinclair, Becky Trippick

Team Bath*: Rosie Allison, Samantha Cook, Pamela Cookey, Kadeen Corbin, Stacey Francis, Serena Guthrie,, Sophie Masterson, Kelly Morgan, Yasmin Parsons, Mia Ritchie, Ashleigh Jade Stock,  Asha Tett, Gemma Stewart (nee Fletcher), Amanda Trounce

Team Northumbria: Harriet Baxter, Claire Brown, Victoria Burgess, Sally Butters, Natalie Connor, Marie Ewing, Jatjinda Kambatuku, Leah Kennedy, Kayley Moss, Christianna Munro, Sarah Penny, Deborah Percy, Victoria Percy, Tessa Potts, Emma Woodings

Yorkshire Jets: Brie Grierson, Natalie Haythornthwaite, Alex Kirk, Kate Lightfoot, Kylie Paynter, Shana Potgieter, Amy Potter, Lauren Potter, Lucy Richardson, Abigail Ryan, Jessica Shaw, Rachel Shaw, Amy Stevens, Joanne Walker, Stephanie Wilson

*Team Bath's 15th player to be named upon confirmation of medical results.

Visit the NSL Section for more information and fixtures

< Back to all news articles