LONDON, ENGLAND - JANUARY 16: Jade Clarke of Vitality Roses and Gina Crampton of New Zealand chase the ball during the 2022 Netball Quad Series match between Vitality Roses and New Zealand at Copper Box Arena on January 16, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Chloe Knott/Getty Images for England Netball)

LONDON, ENGLAND - JANUARY 16: Jade Clarke of Vitality Roses and Gina Crampton of New Zealand chase the ball during the 2022 Netball Quad Series match between Vitality Roses and New Zealand at Copper Box Arena on January 16, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Chloe Knott/Getty Images for England Netball)

In their final game of the group stages, Team England will face a challenge against current world champions New Zealand.

Famously known as the Silver Ferns, New Zealand have qualified for the semi-finals at every Commonwealth Games tournament. 2018 was the only year they failed to progress to the final, losing out to Australia in the semi-finals and finishing fourth overall, beaten by Jamaica in the bronze medal match.

The Silver Ferns are currently ranked second in the world and have had a strong run in the group stages at the 2022 Games so far. New Zealand have dominated against rivals Northern Ireland and Trinidad & Tobago. They were challenged in the group stages by Uganda (winning 53-40) and Malawi (winning 69-50). The current reigning world champions sit on equal on points with Team England, with the winner of this upcoming match finishing top of the group.

Google Ad Manager – MPU – In Article


How to Watch:

Date: Thursday 4 August

First centre pass: 9pm

Where to watch online: BBC iPlayer

Where to watch with your teammates: England Netball, South London’s iconic Pop Brixton and popular pub chain, The Botanist in BirminghamAlderley Edge and West Bridgford, Nottingham, are working together to create a series of designated ‘screening hubs’ where fans can come together, watch the sold-out games and enjoy the tournament as it unfolds. Grab your teammates and find out how to book here.

You can download the Netball schedule so you don’t miss a game and grab our watch-along Wall Planner so you can follow each team’s progress.


Head-to-Head Record

This match will be the 55th meeting between the two sides – the seventh at a Commonwealth Games. New Zealand currently lead the head-to-head win record.

Last Five Meetings:

Date Competition Result (for England)

16 January 2022

2022 Quad Series W: New Zealand 46-49 England

24 September 2021

2021 NZ & Australia Tour W: New Zealand 45-49 England

22 September 2021

2021 NZ & Australia Tour W: New Zealand 45-55 England

20 September 2021

2021 NZ & Australia Tour L: New Zealand 48-42 England
1 November 2020 2020 NZ Tour L: New Zealand 62-47 England

 


View From Inside the England Camp

Eboni Usoro-Brown:

“I think the match versus New Zealand will be hotly contested as usual. We’ve shown on the world stage in recent years that we can compete with them, and we can beat them but also, they are currently world champions, so we need to pay them due respect at the same time.

“I’m just really looking forward to a clinical performance by England and we had lots of targets to work on this game (vs. Uganda) which Jess Thirlby (Head Coach) said we had achieved at the end which is pleasing to hear. So now we need to start putting it all together under pressure and winning really does help too!”

Helen Housby: 

“New Zealand are a class side. They keep the ball really well. Their defensive structure is a bit different to most other teams. We know they’re going to bring it; they’re the reigning world champions and they’ve got a lot going for them so we’ll have to be on our A game.”


Ones to Watch

Grace Nweke

20-year-old Grace Nweke has risen to success in the ANZ Premiership with Northern Mystics. She had a dominant season in 2021, setting a new league scoring record and again has had a stellar season with the side in 2022, scoring 545 league goals with an average 92% accuracy. Though she may have had limited exposure to international netball, she has developed throughout this Commonwealth Games and will certainly be one to watch in the match up with Team England. Watch out for her fantastic positioning of her hold in the circle.

 

Gina Crampton

Part of the Silver Ferns’ World Cup winning side in 2019, Crampton is central to the side’s style of play. Her wealth of experience at both C and WA makes her ideally placed to dictate in the attacking end for the Ferns. Domestically, Crampton has had a successful career, having won New Zealand ANZ Championship Player of the Year in 2016. Mostly recently Crampton has been influential for her side, the Robinhood Stars, providing a mammoth 748 feeds across the season. Watch out for her strong drives and pinpoint accurate feeding ability into the shooting circle.


New Zealand full squad:

Kayla Johnson, Phoenix Karaka, Kelly Jury, Sulu Fitzpatrick, Gina Crampton, Shannon Saunders, Whitney Souness, Kate Heffernan, Maia Wilson, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Grace Nweke, Bailey Mes.

Here’s a guide to the competition, including how you can follow all the action.

If you’re new to our sport and want to have a go yourself, we have programmes for everyone aged 5 to 95 from Bee Netball for children, to Back to Netball for those returning, to Walking Netball, a slower version of the game we love. Through the netball finder on our homepage, simply select play and enter your postcode and you’ll find a variety of sessions in your area.

Loved being in the crowd or watching from home? There’s more live netball coming your way in England this October – book tickets now.

Previous Story The Thorns, England Men’s National Team, set to play first international fixture against Australia
Next Story Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games: Team England vs. New Zealand reaction

You may also like...

Bronze Medal Match Commonwealth Games Preview: Team England vs New Zealand

Bronze Medal Match Commonwealth Games Preview: Team England vs New Zealand

7th Aug 2022
Eboni Usoro-Brown announces plans to retire after Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

Eboni Usoro-Brown announces plans to retire after Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games

7th Aug 2022