2018-19 Premier League Play-Offs Preview

12 teams will be competing for three spaces in Premier League 3 for the 2019-20 season when the Premier League Play-Offs take place this weekend.

Team Jets, Hertford Hornets and Kent County, who finished 8th, 9th and 10th respectively, will be battling to keep their position in the league.

It’s a familiar situation for Team Jets who, after being relegated from Premier League 2 in 2017, successfully saved their Premier League 3 status in last season’s play-offs.

Nine regional winners will join Team Jets, Hertford Hornets and Kent County as Exeter (South West), Thoroughbred (East), Tibberton Stars (West Mids), Hinckley Hurricanes (East Mids), Riverside Netball (North East), Hi-Tech (Yorks), Chester (North West), Eclipse (London & South East) and Eagles (South) all aim to reach the Premier League.

Chester are looking for an immediate return to Premier League competition after they lost their place for conceding two second-division fixtures in 2018.

Meanwhile, Thoroughbred, Riverside Netball (both 2017 & 2018) and Hi-Tech (2016 & 2018) will be hoping it’s a case of third time lucky to make the step up.

Eagles are familiar faces in the play-offs after previously competing in the 2015, 2017 and 2018 editions. There’s also a return for Exeter, who missed out in last season’s play-offs.

For Tibberton Stars, Hinckley Hurricanes and Eclipse, it’s their first shot at winning promotion to Premier League 3.

The action gets underway from 10:30am on Saturday 27th April at the University of Hull.

For further information on the 2018/19 Play-Offs, download the schedule.

Follow England Netball on Twitter for updates during this weekend’s competition.

Share this article