England Netball

The 2017 Goalden Globe Awards took place on Saturday night as England Netball recognised and celebrated our incredible army of volunteers.

The first award was the National Long Service Award, given to those who have dedicated themselves to improving the sport.

The deserving winners were Yvonne Adshead, Kim Burns, Pip Cross, Debbie Crowley, Elaine Douris, Denise Hutton, Jo Kelly, Sue Patterson, Anne Peak, Maggie Quantock-Houghton, Sharon Scott, Maureen Squires and Julie Tinsley.

The focus then switched to recognising those on the start of their netball journey as the Pass on your Passion Awards were handed out.

Google Ad Manager – MPU – In Article

There were eight recipients: Abigail Blythe, Channon Bruton, Stephanie Cooper, Florence Jones, Katie Kelly, Lucie Maull, Jade Myers and Amy Tomlin.

The winner of the Young Netball Volunteer was Hannah Rowell who has gone above and beyond, including organising one of the most successfully run Guildford league seasons.

Cumberland Netball Club took home the Outstanding Netball Club Award after their commitment to providing outstanding netball opportunities to all. In their junior section alone, they increased attendance from 84 members to 111 in the last year.

The Mary Bulloch Administrator Award was won by Lesley Robbins. At Team Bath Community Netball Club, Lesley supports the committee, coaches, umpires and captains and has been heavily involved in fundraising.

Katrina Venner picked up the Muriel McNally Grassroots Award for her work mentoring coaches and umpires and enabling the North Devon league to run as smoothly as possible.

Francesca Nutt collected the Grassroots Coach Award for her excellent work in providing young talented netballers a focused environment to develop their skills as they progress through the performance pathway at Avon Academy.

Next up was the Grassroots Officials Award with Debbie Ashworth picking up the trophy following her great work to tirelessly support and develop over 50 new umpires in Cornwall from juniors to seniors.

After delivering three training sessions for 70+ girls in addition to her normal responsibilities each week, Carol Duffy was rewarded for her fabulous work as she collected the Teacher Award.

The winner of the Unsung Hero Award was Sarah Croft after her amazing efforts in encouraging people to have a go whether that is at junior level, Back to Netball or volunteering.

Recognised for her wonderful work as the founder and driving force of the Swindon Vixens – a netball club aimed at women who have Learning Disabilities – Maureen Squires was rewarded with the Inclusion and Diversity Award.

U21 England Roses Captain Fran Williams received a Volunteer of the Moment award after her exemplary leadership when sudden illness struck the squad, affecting all the coaching staff and three of the players, at the Netball World Youth Cup.

It was then time to move onto the Vitality Netball Superleague Awards.

Gary Burgess scooped the Umpire of the Season Award for his hard work and commitment in maintaining the highest officiating standards.

Loughborough Lightning were the big winners with Vicki Oyesola named Young Player of the Season, Karen Atkinson winning Coach of the Season and Peace Proscovia claiming both the Players’ Player of the Season and Vitality Player of the Season awards.

Nicole Aiken Pinnock (GK), Layla Guscoth (GD), Beth Cobden (WD), Bongiwe Msomi (C), Liana Leota (WA), Kathryn Turner (GA) and Peace Proscovia (GS) made up the VNSL All Star VII.

It was a joint-celebration when the 2017 National Rose Award was announced with both Val Kindred and Mo Squires taking home a trophy after their fantastic work in their respective areas.

Val has secured almost £60,000 to develop junior netball in three locations across Leicester and has worked with the Chair of the Leicester Netball League and several constituent clubs to recruit and train volunteers to lead the weekly sessions.

Mo has fondly been named the ‘founder’ of Walking Netball and has been an advocate of the game and its benefits. She is a Walking Netball Host and participants can’t speak highly enough about her and her impact on their lives.

Next up, England Netball welcomed three new Honorary Life Members.

Gilly Salter achieved the highest of levels in netball in the early 80s playing for England, has been a head coach of Hucclecote NC since 1988 and a national and regional scout since 1999.

Recently described by a young participant at an England Netball Officiating conference as ‘a role model to aspire to,’ Margaret Deighan has umpired over 100 international games and continues to dedicate her time to mentoring, leading courses and assessing.

Jane Kelloe has held many club management positions since the 1980s. She has been her County’s Umpiring secretary since 1984, is a key member of the London and South East Region Management Board and has chaired its very successful Officiating TSG since its inception in 2010.

The evening was capped off with the presentation of a Special Recognition Award.

A unique contribution to netball and, in particular, to moulding and developing the way the sport is umpired and officiated for over 40 years was recognised as Sheelagh Redpath was announced to a standing ovation.

England Netball would like to thank our friends and sponsors from Team Colours UK, Gilbert Netball, Fiat UK, Harrod UK, Sport Experiences, Smile Travel, Mizuno, Vitality and Go Girl Insurance for their support of the 2017 Goalden Globe Awards.

Previous Story Nominations open for The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2017
Next Story Reaction from 2017 Goalden Globe Award Winners

You may also like...

ParaNetball Championship set to take place in Loughborough

ParaNetball Championship set to take place in Loughborough

11 hours ago
Young Bee Netballers cheer whilst holding Bee netballs

England Netball support National School Sports Week

17th Jun 2024