England Netball announced as Official Partner of Coaching Week

An England U19 squad will travel to New Zealand and Australia from the 26th June – 12th July 2019 to gain invaluable international experience and test themselves in a highly competitive environment.

Head Coach Sheonah Forbes’ 20-strong squad will have three training days together on the 8th, 15th and 22nd June before travelling out to face a New Zealand Secondary Schools Team in Auckland and the Australia U19 squad in Canberra.

Discussing the opportunity for the Young Roses, Forbes said: “This summer tour to New Zealand and Australia will be a great test for our talented athletes, and it is exciting for them to be playing the best opposition teams in this age group. It is a fantastic opportunity for our athletes to train and compete in highly competitive environments, and provides a great learning opportunity for them.”

Annabel Roddy (Loughborough Lightning) has been named as captain for the tour. Upon hearing the news, she said: “It’s one of the best feelings being named captain for the U19 tour this summer. I feel honoured to work alongside such an incredible team of players and coaches. I am very excited to compete against the Aussies and Kiwis and show them what this England U19 squad are made of.”

Google Ad Manager – MPU – In Article

Roddy will be supported by vice-captains Zara Everitt (Loughborough Lightning) and Ellie Rattu (Wasps) on tour. Rattu said: “I’m honoured and thrilled to not only be picked to go and represent my country but also to be named vice captain amongst such an outstanding group of athletes. I can’t wait to see what tour brings and what the future holds for this team.”

The England U19 squad

Zara Everitt (VC) (Loughborough Lightning)

Funmi Fadoju (London Pulse)

Rachel Fee (Team Bath)

Beth Gabriel* (Severn Stars)

Alice Harvey (Loughborough Lightning)

Ally Housley* (Wasps)

Ruth Hughes (Wasps)

Suzie Liverseidge (Surrey Storm)

Berri Neil (Manchester Thunder)

Jasmin Odeogberin (London Pulse)

Ellie Rattu (VC) (Wasps)

Annabel Roddy (C) (Loughborough Lightning)

Yasmin Roebuck (Manchester Thunder)

Kira Rothwell (London Pulse)

Sienna Rushton (Wasps)

Millie Sanders (Manchester Thunder)

Alicia Scholes (Manchester Thunder)

Stacey Tankoua (Manchester Thunder)

Olivia Tchine (London Pulse)

Emma Thacker (Surrey Storm)

*Subject to fitness

Reserves: Rosie Bartlett (Team Bath), Victoria Booth (Mavericks), Ellie Harding (Surrey Storm), Emma Rayner (Manchester Thunder)

Congratulations to all the athletes selected!

Make sure you’re following their journey on the England Netball website, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Previous Story SportsAid week returns this September
Next Story Ten Roses Academy players nominated for 'Backing the Best' awards

You may also like...

Top 18 teams ready for Under 14 National Clubs Finals

Top 18 teams ready for Under 14 National Clubs Finals

20th May 2024
Netball Performance League 2024 Final Round for U17, U19 and U21

Netball Performance League 2024 Final Round for U17, U19 and U21

13th Apr 2024