Vitality Goalden Globe Award 2020 winners announced

Last night (10.12.2020) saw the first ever Virtual Goalden Globe Awards, streamed live on the England Netball Youtube channel, become a huge success. The annual awards evening celebrates and recognises volunteers within the Netball Family, who dedicate their time to enriching people’s lives through netball. There were 31 award recipients throughout the night, from those giving their service to netball for over 25 years, to those who have kept the game going during this difficult year, helping netball to #RiseAgain.

The star-studded evening, which saw over 750 people watch live, boasted a number special guests from both within netball and the wider sporting landscape, such as Clare Balding, who began the evening outlining the importance of volunteers within sport, before announcing two recipients of the National Long Service Award, Susan Garrett and Zena Johnston.

It was over to Heather Knight, England Cricket Captain and Vitality Ambassador, who presented the award for those young volunteers who completed 400 hours as part of the Pass on your Passion programme within the last two years. There were also appearances from past and present netball royalty revealing winners, from the likes of Vitality Roses Head Coach Jess Thirlby, former Head Coach and Vitality Ambassador Tracey Neville, along with netball stars Serena Guthrie, George Fisher and Sasha Corbin.

Google Ad Manager – MPU – In Article

The England Netball Honorary Life Members grew on the evening, with four members being inducted. During the show, we went live to Head of Officiating at England Netball Gary Burgess, to see his surprise reaction to his news of receiving this honour, before announcing other fellow new members, Jean Davies, Karen Jones and Paul Clark.

To close the awards, it was former Olympic Champion, Denise Lewis, who inducted two new members into the England Netball Hall of Fame, both members have been Vitality Roses players’ for over 10 years, and achieved over 100 international appearances, including the famous Commonwealth Gold medal in 2018. This was of course Eboni Usoro-Brown and Joanne Harten. In addition, the honour was down to fellow Hall of Fame member Mary Beardwood to induct Maggie Jackson into the group for her dedication to netball, as a player, coach and mentor over the decades.

If you were unable to join us on the evening, then fear not, as you are able to watch the show again here.

All the recipients and presenters on the evening can be found below:

National Vitality Goalden Globe Award winners:

– Young Netball Volunteer presented by broadcaster Caroline Baker: Eleanor Mills

– Outstanding Netball Club Award presented by England Netball Ambassador, Sasha Corbin: Crosskeys Netball Club

– Mary Bulloch Administrator Award presented by England Netball CEO, Fran Connolly: Helen Preston

– Muriel McNally Award presented by Vitality Ambassador, Tracey Neville: Pat Arnott

– Grassroots Coach Award presented by Vitality Roses Head Coach, Jess Thirlby: Abby Chamberlain

– Sheelagh Redpath Grassroots Official Award presented by International Umpire Gary Burgess and Sheelagh Redpath: Michelle Ray

– Netball Teacher Award presented by Youth Sport Trust CEO, Ali Oliver: Lou Burgan

– Unsung Hero Award presented by Paralympic Champion, Ellie Simmons: Myra Hawtree

– Inclusion and Diversity Award presented by Head Coach of Saracens Mavericks, Kat Ratnapala: Lucy McFayden

Pass on your Passion, presented by England Cricket Captain and Vitality Ambassador, Heather Knight.

– Claudia Robb

– Scarlett Robb

– Sophie Crooks

– Tegan Lintonbon-Baker

Special Recognition Awards, presented by England Netball CEO, Fran Connolly, Chair, Colin Povey and outgoing President, Lindsay Sartori.

– President’s special Recognition Award: Joanna Coates (England Netball CEO 2015 – 19)

– Special Recognition Award: Lindsay Impettt (Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 Event Director)

– Special Recognition Award: Lindsay Sartori (former England Netball President)

– #RiseAgain Champion Award: Becky Sidwell

Rose Award, presented by Vitality Rose, Serena Guthrie.

– Andy Lamb

– Crystal Buchanan

– Felicity O’Leary

– Jan Johnson

– Watford Netball League

National Long Service Award, presented by international sport presenter, Clare Balding.

– Susan Garrett

– Zena Johnston

Hall of Fame Inductee’s, presented by former Olympic Champion, Denise Lewis, and fellow Hall of Famer Mary Beardwood.

– Eboni Usoro-Brown

– Joanne Harten

– Maggie Jackson

Honorary Life Members Inductee’s presented by both the hosts and Eboni Usoro-Brown.

– Gary Burgess

– Jean Davies

– Karen Jones

– Paul Clark

It goes without saying that this sport could not happen without the thousands of volunteers who help make netball happen, it has been a year that has well and truly shown how the wonderful Netball Family pulls together and more so than ever this year. England Netball want to say a huge thank you to each and every one of you. Even more so than ever in this particularly tough and demanding year, in keeping netball alive, and ensuring together netball will #RISEAGAIN.

Previous Story Happy birthday, Sophie Drakeford-Lewis!
Next Story Win a £500 grant for your club, courtesy of DYNAMIK

You may also like...

Vitality Roses confirmed for 2024-25 programme

Vitality Roses confirmed for 2024-25 programme

1 day ago
Johnston Carmichael to support the growth of grassroots netball in the North East

Johnston Carmichael to support the growth of grassroots netball in the North East

21st May 2024